RSS Feed

I LOVE GRIME MEETS DJ SHOKK

Posted on
ilovegrimemeetsdjshokk

I LOVE GRIME MEETS DJ SHOKK

 

Name: Shokk

Occupation: Studying audio engineering

Ends you rep: Oslo, Norway and a place just outside Oslo you have never heard of

Age: Soon 19

ILG: Why the name Shokk?   

Shokk: No idea, it just popped up in my head you know
 
ILG: Was you born in Norway?

Shokk: Yes, born and bred,  I’m 100% Norwegian.
  
ILG: Grime originated in London how did it find you in Norway? 

Shokk: I get this question all the time, hah. I’ve always been a hip hop kid but I found I wasn’t always into all the tunes my friends were and thought it was quite boring at times. At one point, I think this might have been when Showtime was released, I heard Stand Up Tall and Dream on TV and thought this Dizzee guy was sick. I went straight to the record shop and bought both Boy In Da Corner and Showtime. BIDC impressed me, like nothing I had ever heard before. Good times.  Wiley had a feature on that album, so I went and bought Treddin’ On Thin Ice, which impressed me just as much. It all went from there.
 

ILG: In Norway you are the equivalent of England’s Logan Sama how did you get a show on legal radio? 

Shokk: It was easier than you might think. I handed them a pilot for the show, somehow they liked it and I was summoned to a meeting where I really persuaded them into thinking this was right for their radio station. And boom it was done.

ILG: Does grime have a big following out in Scandanavia? 

Shokk: Definitely not big, no. I can’t really speak for Sweden or Denmark, but I think those countries has been a little more open to it than Norway. There is a Swedish grime MC called Max Peezay who got some good rotation on TV and radio over there. Anyways it’s growing, I speak to more and more people who know about grime music. It’s funny because in certain circles in the “hip” community in Oslo, dubstep has become the new hip thing and therefore more and more of those people recognise grime. People who are really into hip hop often knows about grime. 

 ILG: How do you get your hands on the latest tunes? 

Shokk: I buy as many mixtapes as I can from Avalanche Music Hut, UKRS, Uptown etc., and I buy digitally.

ILG: Who is more important the MC/DJ/Producer? 

Shokk: I feel all of them are equally important, they are all three elements of grime that has always been important to the genre.

ILG: How many listeners does your show average?

Shokk: I don’t really know, I don’t think the station monitors FM listeners. But I think the editor said it may peak at 40-50 listeners, but I have no idea if that’s true.

ILG: What are you views on illegal downloads? 

Shokk: Illegal downloads ruins music, but sadly I don’t see a solution for it other than people growing a conscience. I’m not saying I don’t download music, but it is very rare, and if I do and it’s something I like (especially when it’s grime) I end up buying it sooner or later anyways. 

ILG: What was the last thing you downloaded?
  
Shokk: Music? I can’t really remember. I downloaded a South Park episode the other day though.
ILG: Grime or UK Funky?
 
Shokk: I don’t really know what Funky House is, but from what I’ve heard it’s a bit cheesy. I like some house music though, that’s what you hear in clubs here, either that or hip hop.
 
ILG: Vinyl or CD releases what do you prefer? 

Shokk: CD, never owned any vinyl sadly.

ILG: Do you have norweigan MC’s?  

Shokk: I’d say yes. Kind of. But they are people who lean towards hip hop and has always been on the hip hop tip. I’m getting two guests in on my show this monday to do a first ever  freestyle set and it should be hype as fuck. I don’t think that has ever been done in Norway.
  
ILG: Have you ever tried producing?

Shokk: Of course! I started out producing grime, you can find some of it on my Myspace. But I’ve really focused on DJing lately and it’s been a good while since I produced. 

ILG: Apart from Ole Gunnar Solskjaer have Norway had any good football players?

Shokk: To be honest I’m not excactly the biggest football follower, but yeah we have had. John Carew plays for Aston Villa, he’s from around here. There’s several more but I don’t remember where they play and I’m not up to date at all. 

ILG: Have any Grime artists ever performed in Norway?

Shokk: Yeah, Dizzee has been here a few times, Lethal Bizzle’s been over I think, Flowdan was here with The Bug… There’s probably more too. 
 
ILG: What clash would you like to see on Lord Of The Mics 3?

Shokk: P-Money vs. Ghetto

ILG: Is there a big rave scene in Norway or is Grime underground and hated like it is in London?

Shokk: Not much of a rave scene like you have in London, it’s more about the clubs here. Is grime really hated in London? Haha, if it’s hated over there it’ll probably have a hard time not being hated here too.

ILG: John Barnes or David Platt?

Shokk: Who and who? Like I said, I’m not really into football. I’ve always been more into basketball, I used to play for a team when I was younger and still play with mates in the summertime.

ILG: Do you watch any english soaps?

Shokk: Haha, no. Not from any other countries for that matter either.

ILG: Do you have alot of crime in Norway?

Shokk: I don’t know what to compare with, but east Oslo, which is where I was born, is the part of Norway with the most crime, there’s definitely some mad unstable places there. Where I live now I think is rougher than most parts of Norway.

ILG: What are your plans for next year?

Shokk: Wow, I don’t know. I’m not the type to set myself particular goals, I do whatever I feel like at the moment. I’ll probably keep on DJing, maybe pick up producing and maybe even try to host a grime night/rave in conjunction with some of the dubstep people in town.
 
ILG: Was you on pirate radio before you went on to legal radio?

Shokk: Haha, pirate radio in Oslo… There aren’t any as far as I know. Too risky.
 
ILG: What are the girls out in Norway like are they sexy?
  
Shokk: Yes! Doesn’t everyone know Scandinavian girls are the hottest in the world?
ILG: Nike air max 87/90/93/95 or 97?

Shokk: I’m rockin’ 90s!
 
ILG: Are there black people in Norway?

Shokk: Haha, of course. Some of my best friends are black. And I have a lot of Asian and a few South American friends.
 
ILG: Who is your favourite MC,DJ and Producer? 

Shokk: Wiley, Logan Sama & Footsie

ILG: In 5 years will we have a grime scene?

Shokk: Of course. It’s growing. I hope people around Europe keep working and help spreading the sound around, internationalising the genre could be very benificial. Think about what great position the UK is in, like any other English speaking country, when it comes to making something new! All countries probably have their own distinct music genres but they will never sell outside their own country because of the language barrier. English is the world language and that means you have a great oppurtunity to spread this.
 
ILG: Fifa 10 or PES2010?

Shokk: Now that’s a football question I can answer! I’ve played Fifa 10 alot with friends lately, PES2010 was too… rigid. Or something.
 
ILG: Should Rafael Benitez get the sack?

Shokk: ……… Is this a grime or a football blog?
 
ILG: Thighs or Toes?

Shokk: Thighs!
 
ILG: Big ups

Shokk: I Love Grime, Grimeforum, Radio Nova, everyone who’s been to Norway and knows what badman place Oslo is, Spiro, Ruben, Pete
 
ILG: Who do you think I am?

Shokk: Not sure but I think I met you in Madamme Tussauds Museum in London a couple of years ago?

 

 

You can check out DJ Shokk  live every Monday 20.30 UK time. People can lock in at www.radionova.no and clicking “LYTT” in the top left corner, and listen back to his previous shows at www.radionova.no/programmer/gettoknowgrime  You can also check out the DJ Shokk myspace www.myspace.com/deejayshokk
In the mean time here is a exclusive DJ Shokk mix Click the link below or the image at the top of this blog entry
  
http://www.divshare.com/download/8995833-77b
Tracklist:

Rude Kid / ID Card
Demos / Scattah!!
DaVinChe / Attack
Terror Danjah feat. D.O.K / Code Morse
Chase & Status / Eastern Jam
Footsie / 3 Plates
Maniac / Star In The Making Remix
Dexplicit / Steamtrain VIP
D.O.K / Phone Box
Wiley / I’m A Fly Boy

Leave a Reply

